Jury Results from Previous Year







JURY 2012

March 19-23, 2012

3D Jurors:

• Yuriko Yamaguchi, Sculptor and Professional Lecturer in Sculpture, George Washington University

• David Smedley, Sculptor and Associate Professor and Sculpture Program Coordinator, Howard University

• Dominie Nash, Fiber Artist

3D Results:

• Karin Abromaitis, Clay and Metal

• Bev Andrews, Ceramics

• Jamie Fine, Ceramics

• Dejan Jovanovic, Jewelry

• Maureen Melville, Stained Glass>

• Holly Sugarman, Fiber

2D Jurors:

•Judy Southerland, Painter and Associate Professor, Corcoran College of Art + Design

• Mark Leithauser, Artist and Senior Curator and Chief of Design, National Gallery of Art

• Frank Hallam Day, Fine Art Photographer

2D Results:

• Lesley Clarke, Painting

• Soomin Ham, Photography

• Eric T. Johnson, Photography

• Rachel Kerwin, Painting and Drawing

• Greg Knott, Photography

• Guido Krueger, Photography

• Allen Levy, Painting

• E. E. McCollum, Photography

• Jennifer Brewer Stone, Painting

• Brady Wilks, Photography

• Frederic Zafran, Photography

JURY 2011

February 28 – March 3, 2011

3D Jurors:

• Binnie Fry, Independent Curator, Juror, and Public Art Consultant

• Chris Shea, Metal Sculptor

• Novie Trump, Ceramic Sculptor and Founder/Director of Flux Studios

3D Results:

• Wiwat Kamolpornwijit, Jewelry

• Erwin Timmers, Glass

• Vivian Johnson, Ceramics

• Klaudia Levin, Ceramics

2D Jurors:

>• Zoe Charlton, Artist and Associate Professor at American University

• Vesela Sretenovic, Curator of Modern and Contemporary Art, Phillips Collection

• Janos Enyedi, Painter, Sculptor, and Photographer, Furnace Road Studio

2D Results:

• Margaret Cerutti

• Julian Parker-Burns

• Sandy LeBrun-Evans

2010 JURY

April 5-8, 2010

3D Jurors:

• Karen Hampton, Fiber artist and Professor at Howard University

• Kevin Hluch, Ceramic artist and Professor at Montgomery College

• Foon Sham, Sculptor and Professor at the University of Maryland

3D Results:

• Melissa Hackmann

• Paulette Warwick

• Matthew Farnsworth

• Anna Yakubovskaya

• Kelly O’Brien

2D Jurors:

• Steven Cushner, Painter and Professor at the Corcoran School of Art

• Bill Harris, Printmaker and Teacher at the Duke Ellington School of the Arts

• Gretchen Schermerhorn, Printmaker and Director of Artistic Collaboration at Pyramid Atlantic

2D Results:

• Vincent Colvin

• Mary Morrison

• Nancy Pane Fortwengler

• Donna T Jones

• Jo Ann Tooley

• Matthew Tito Cuenca

• Blake Stenning

• Pete McCutchen

• Ellen Delaney

• Laurie Sand

2009 JURY

March 2-5, 2009

3D Jurors:

• Dr. Gwendolyn Everett, Associate Professor and Chair, Department of Art, Howard University

• Shana Kroiz, Studio Artist, Instructor, Maryland Institute College of Art, Jewelry Center’s Special Events and Workshop Coordinator

• Andrea Uravitch, Artist, Sculptor, Photographer, and Educator

3D Results:

• Saaraliisa Ylitalo

• Jessica Beels

• Carlos Beltran Baldiviezo

2D Jurors:

• Daniel Finch, Associate Professor of Painting & Drawing Messiah College Grantham, PA

• Joan Boudreau, Deputy Chair, Division of Information Technology and Communications, Curator, Graphic Arts Collection National Museum of American History Smithsonian Museum

• Marsha Mateyka, Marsha Mateyka Gallery

2D Results:

One instruction we give the jurors every year is that they are free to select any number of artists they wish; they may select all, some, or none. Unfortunately, this year they chose none.

2008 JURY

April 14-17, 2008

3D Jurors:

• Rick Wall, Sculptor, Director of the Sculpture Department, Corcoran College of Art and Design

• Rebecca Stevens, Contemporary Curator, Textile Museum

• James Malenda, Sculptor and professor, Art Department, Kutztown University of PA

3D Results:

• Rachel Carren, Jewelry

• Tamara Embrey, Fiber

• Annemarie Feld, Fiber

• Zoya Gutina, Jewelry

2D Jurors:

• Stephen Bennett Phillips, Author, and Fine Arts Program Director, Bd. of Governors of the Federal Reserve System

• Camille Mosley-Pasley, Photographer, Owner and Director of Anacostia Fine Art

• Paula Amt, Painter, Owner and Director, Plan B Gallery

2D Results:

• Michael Borek, Photography

• JoAnn Clayton, Painting

• Abigail Hansen, Printmaking

• Carol McHarg, Printmaking

• Susan Stockdale, Painting

• Paula Wachsstock, Printmaking


March 5-8, 2007

3D Jurors:

• Maurine Littleton, director of the Littleton Gallery

• Rebecca Stevens, consultant at the Textile Museum

• Kevin Crowe, potter and adjunct professor at Hood College

3D Results:

• Alison Sigethy, Glass

• Tatyana Schremko, Sculpture

• Joan Ulrich, Ceramics

2D Jurors:

• Barbara Wolanin, art historian and curator

• Skip Lawrence, painter and founder and editor of Palette magazine

• Scip Barnhart, printmaker and professor at Corcoran College of Art

2D Results: 

• Marcia Dullum, Acrylic Painting

• Mina Oka Hanig, Acrylic Painting

• Michele Hoben, Mixed Media

• Alexia Scott, Oil and Pastel

• Peter Stolvoort, Acrylic Painting