As one of the original medium-specific cornerstone galleries of the Torpedo Factory Art Center on the waterfront of historic Old Town Alexandria, Scope Gallery has been providing visitors with the highest quality of clay art work since 1974.

The gallery provides a vast array of ceramics including functional artisan high-fire pottery, sculptural forms and decorative vessels. More than 30 local Washington-area artists exhibit at Scope, representing more than a dozen international regions and countries, resulting in a depth and blend of diverse forms seen nowhere else. Each artist personalizes his or her art form and technique, affording visitors the opportunity to examine endless possibilities in clay and more specific aspects of glazing, firing, construction and decorating techniques.

This premiere gallery offers examples of crystalline glazing, salt, raku and wood-fired vessels and pit and horse-hair pottery. Scope invites award-winning, nationally-known experts in the industry to jury shows, maintaining a creative cutting edge.

Scope is dynamic, continually introducing artists throughout the year, offering new work featuring an assortment of artists tuned to rotating monthly themes. Returning customers enjoy the “freshness” of displays in an engaging atmosphere, encouraging visitors to exchange ideas with creative professionals, enriching an understanding of the clay medium.

For more information about our artists and their work, visit the Scope Gallery website at scopegallery.org, like us on Facebook at ‘Scope Gallery at the Torpedo Factory Art Center’ and follow @ScopeGallery on Twitter. We look forward to seeing you survey and shop our pots!

Artists

Bev Andrews

Artist ProfileEmail: bev.andrews@b1global.com

Lorraine Colson

Porcelain Crystalline PlatterEmail: LOTO3944@aol.com

Christine Coyle

BirdhouseArtist WebsiteEmail: Christine@Cellardoorpottery.com
dinklemeyer tea cup

Jennifer Dinkelmeyer

Porcelain Teacup and SaucerEmail: jdinkclay@gmail.com

Donna Downing

Arlington HorseEmail: donnadowning@post.harvard.edu
gotterdam platter

Barbara Gatterdam

Stoneware PlatterEmail: claystones@msn.com

Tracie Griffith Tso

Brushpainted Bunny Nesting DishesArtist WebsiteArtist ProfileEmail: inksart@gmail.com
hintze jar

Norma Hintze

Crystalline Blue JarArtist ProfileEmail: donaldhintze6@comcast.net

Martin Karcher

Leaf VaseEmail: mkarcher1@aol.com
levin raku

Klaudia Levin

Naked Raku Vessel — PorcelainArtist WebsiteArtist ProfileEmail: kmlevin@comnetcore.net

Christine Moerenhout-Hubloue

CENTERPIECE and THE CHOIR(Handbuild Stoneware)Email: Chubloue@aol.com

Laura Nichols

Sticks and Stoneware( Stoneware)Artist WebsiteEmail: Laura@PigPenPottery.com
ratliff porcelain vessel

Yoshiko Ratliff

Smoky Gold Crystalline Vessel(Porcelain)Artist WebsiteArtist ProfileEmail: yoshikor@gmail.com

Peggy Reichard

Fox in PaisleyArtist WebsiteEmail: preichard1@verizon.net

Heidi Schramm

Raku Basket, Driftwood and Waxed LinenEmail: Heidischramm@verizon.net

Enid Sport-Stewart

Porcelain Nested Dish Set with Gold InteriorEmail: neuess@verizon.net

Linda Bernard

Words For Thought II
zelst horsehair vessel

Mia van Zelst

Horsehair VesselEmail: vanzelst@verizon.net

Suan Ying

Serving Bowl with Incised Flower MotifEmail: suanyt@cox.net

Elizabeth Greene

Celadon VaseArtist WebsiteEmail: elizabethspottery@gmail.com

Shirley Gromen

Breaking the SurfaceArtist WebsiteEmail: shirley@sgromen.com

Pam Eisenmann

Studded DogEmail: eisenmannclay@earthlink.net

Trinka Roeckelein

Bunny and BirdArtist WebsiteEmail: info@trinkadesigns.com

Stephen Lally

Shino YunomiArtist WebsiteEmail: slallypottery@gmail.com

Bikki Stricker

Crystalline Tea SetArtist WebsiteEmail: cerambik@gmail.com

Eileen Egan

Wood-fired pitcher, 2015Artist WebsiteEmail: potterindc@yahoo.com
Studio:
19
Phone:
703-548-6288
Email:
scopegallery19@gmail.com
Hours:
10 am - 6 pm Daily
10 am - 9 pm Thursdays